Restoration of Glasgow’s iconic B listed pump house building, and the creation of a modern distillery, visitor centre and museum.
Works included the demolition and strip-out of a former restaurant building, the removal of asbestos containing materials throughout the conservation of the pump house, masonry repairs, overhauling the existing roofs and windows, and the construction of a new visitor centre and distillery.
This comprised piled foundations, structural steelwork frame, cladding to walls and roof, curtain walling and external doors and windows.
The historic clock tower and pump house, originally built in 1877, was transformed into a visitor centre, shop and café with twin two tonne copper stills within a contemporary glazed extension.
The tasting room, located on the mezzanine level, opens up to create a stunning, bespoke event space for up to two hundred guests.
The restoration of the listed building was one of the main challenges we encountered and overcame along with installing the distillery plant and building in close proximity to the River Clyde. Works which impacted on the River Clyde, including noise vibration and lighting penetrating the water, had to take place out with the hours of darkness. To avoid disturbance to migration of Atlantic salmon, European eel, lamprey and otters, works were scheduled carefully around the months of March, April, and May.